busy times

This morning I was nursing Sophia and I thought about how old she is.  It occurred to me that 13 months have already passed, and I’ve still been saying “one year.”  The thought really surprised me.  Is this how it’s going to be?  Months tick away and I often forget her months-age?  Oh well.  We’ve been super busy lately.  My mom came for a visit this weekend which was great.  She treated me to some new clothes–yup, I’m officially in maternity pants (insert sarcastic woot).  And, Sunday we had a pitifully sad day of teething…but, Sophia now has both front teeth and is on her way to a less goofy smile.  😉

So, right now we are anxiously preparing for and awaiting the arrival of a few Czech friends of ours who are coming to visit–a married couple that we’ve become great friends with.

100_4230

They fly in on Wednesday evening and are staying about two weeks.  We’re so excited to see them and spend time with them!  We’re planning to take them camping in Colorado for 5 nights!  We leave Friday morning.  Woah!  The five of us.  Yes, we’re taking the baby.  And, we are pumped!  There’s a lot of preparation to do, though.  I’ve been precooking meals, cleaning, washing, shopping, list-making and organizing.

Two things scare me about this trip: 1) a one-year-old in the car, trapped in her carseat for an 8-hour drive… and 2) naps in the tent during the day…  We WILL SEE!  Does anyone have any travel tips for one-year-olds?  We’re thinking of hanging a sheet around her in the car somehow so that she can nap… We haven’t figured out how that’ll work, though…  My hope is that she’ll be on her best behavior with new faces around…

100_5675 We’re practicing for the new baby.  Isn’t that sweet?

3 Responses

  1. Travel tips for 1-year-olds? Just don’t do it! Haha… but if you insist on it, I’m sure it will go fine. We recently took a weekend trip with Anna; she didn’t get as much sleep as she was used to, but boy, she made up for it when we got home! I think she slept about 13 hours at night and took 3-hour naps for a couple of days. I hope y’all have a great time! I’m half-jealous… I certainly don’t want to travel to Colorado, but a break from the Arkansas heat would be nice.

    So when’s the new baby due? I didn’t realize you were pregnant until a few days ago. Congratulations!

  2. Yes, I have an idea, Leave her with her with granpa and mammaw.

Leave a Reply

