The Search for the Greatest Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

I am no chocolate chip cookie connoisseur, but I know what I like and don’t like… being pregnant makes me a little extra picky, of course… The thing is when I bake a chocolate chip cookie at home, I often think, “That’s pretty good, but it’s not as good as ______.” Mind you, I’m blaming the outcome on the recipe and not my cooking ability.  😉

Last night, after a few nights of enjoying home-baked, store bought, pre-cut cookie dough, I decided to take the effort of mixing up my own.  I chose this cook book: The KING ARTHUR FLOUR Cookie Companion: The Essential Cookie Cookbook.  I chose the recipe entitled “The Essential Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie.”  I figured that in a cookbook such as this, the recipe entitled “The Essential….” would be well-researched and near have the claim “The Best Recipe for a Chocolate Chip Cookie EVER!” The recipe was fairly interesting, and I was glad I had everything I needed in the cabinet.  It called for butter instead of shortening, and it called for vinegar and corn syrup… The vinegar was supposed to help cut the sweetness and help the cookie rise more.  The cookie was less sweet, but I didn’t appreciate the cookie’s rise.  I don’t know if I want my cookie to rise.  I changed the recipe only slightly, omitting corn syrup and adding a smidge of peanut butter… Overall, they turned out fairly tastey, though slightly cake-like and too tall.  And, well, it just wasn’t IT!

100_5809

Now, I’m on the search.  Where is the GREATEST CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE RECIPE EVER?!

Here’s what I want out of the cookie: a little crispy, but moist and gooey, chewy in the center. Fairly thin but dense. I want sweet, but not overpoweringly sugary…  Is that asking too much?

So, I’m going to try some more recipes.  Do you think you have the world’s greatest chocolate chip cookie recipe, or at least one that you think I’d love?!  Email it to me, or post it in the comments here.  I’ll try it out and post the results here.

Also, do any of you baking experts know how I might achieve the results I want?  Like butter vs. shortening?

9 Responses

  1. Alas, the great chocolate chip cookie conundrum…I myself set out on a similar quest during the first year after David and I got married. It is a difficult journey. In order to find the perfect recipe, I fear, you must try MANY (perhaps hundreds) of recipes. I wasn’t able to find a definite winner before the vast amounts of butter and sugar caused me to think twice about the consequences of my quest.

    I feel a bit cheapened to admit that I can’t seem to find anything quite as satisfying as the boring Toll House PAN COOKIE recipe. I think it is the same as the regular cookie recipe, but somehow, when I make individual cookies out of it, they just aren’t very good. Throw it all in a pan (definitely easier), and it often results in something exceptionally divine. If individual cookies are your thing, I can give you to what I finally settled on as my “good enough for now” best cookie recipe from my quest. Our preference in cookies is quite similar. I won’t promise that it is earth-shatteringly awesome, though, so you might want to keep trying…

    Combine:
    1/2 cup butter
    1 cup brown sugar
    3 tablespoons sugar

    Add in:
    1 egg
    2 tsp vanilla

    Gradually add:
    1/2 tsp baking soda
    1/2 tsp baking powder
    1/2 tsp salt
    1 3/4 cups flour

    8 oz chocolate chips

    Bake at 375 for 8-10 minutes

    And if you find one that is earth-shatteringly awesome…please let me in on your secret!

  2. Ok, it’s me again…I did a quick google search and found a few things that I just had to share

    The Quest for the Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie (recipe provided)
    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/07/09/dining/09chip.html?pagewanted=1&_r=1

    Secrets of really good chocolate chip cookies
    http://www.well.com/~vard/cookies.html

    The Best Homemade Chocolate Chip Cookies in the Entire World
    http://wordstoeatby.blogspot.com/2004/12/best-homemade-chocolate-chip-cookies.html

    keep me posted!

    • Brandi, Thanks for geeking out with me! I read that first article and now I have to take a break to eat a cookie and drink some milk! Shew! The way they talk about THE chocolate chip cookie! That kind of language makes a pregnant woman swoon! 😉

  3. You may want to look into “America’s Test Kitchen.” They have a show on PBS and several books. Essentially, they try every variation of common recipes to find perfection. It’s really a science!

  4. Okay, I’ll admit. I think I have THE PERFECT recipe. Nate never wants me to make anything else. But it is pretty sweet. I like sweet. I got it from Sandie Anderson. Here it is:

    In one bowl: 4 c. flour, 2 t. salt, 2 t. baking soda
    In another bowl: 2 c. sugar, 2 c. Crisco, 1 c. brown sugar, 4 t. vanilla, 4 eggs.
    Cream contents of second bowl and add dry ingredients. (Key: ADD A GOOD AMOUNT OF EXTRA FLOUR – like maybe 3/4-1c.) Add 1 pkg. chocolate chips. Bake at 375 degrees. (Key: 4 minutes on bottom rack, 4 minutes on top rack.) They will not look done! But take them out and let the sit for awhile. That way they are still soft in the middle. 🙂

    I hope you like them! But if not, that’s okay. 🙂 Hmm…I think I may make these tonight…yummy.

  5. Just this morning, Christopher Kimball posted the “Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie” recipe on his blog! He is the chief editor of Cook’s Illustrated and America’s Test Kitchen, which consistently has the best recipe for whatever it is you’re looking for because they spend so much time testing and perfecting them. You might give it a try!

Leave a Reply

