A milestone of sorts… how my daughter is different than a dog…

I often think how my daughter acts like a dog or at least how I treat her like one.  She eats food off the floor, puts sticks in her mouth, and plays fetch really, really well.  She begs me for food with her mouth wide open.  She gets underfoot in the kitchen and everywhere I am.  When she’s in the pool, she laps up the water with her tongue.  The other day we took a shower together, and she did the one dog-like thing you might hope she wouldn’t do.  Yes, squat and poo.  Right there in the shower with the both of us… Ew…

I’m so excited to share this new developmental hump that we’ve crossed!  It’s been slowly showing itself.  She’s been playing fetch for a while now, but we’ve just crossed over into some real language understanding.  It’s so exciting.  Sophia will bring me something, or I’ll ask her to hand me something or to go get me something, and most of the time I can coerce her into doing it for me.  But, she often doesn’t seem to really understand what it is I’m asking of her.  Well, the other day I was sitting lazily in the recliner with an empty granola bar wrapper, and I asked Sophia to go put it in the trash can for me.  She looked at me, so excited like “Really, Mom?  Really?  I can go and put something IN the sacred DO NOT TOUCH trashcan?!” She grabbed the wrapper and took off to the kitchen, plopped the wrapper in the trashcan and headed back toward me.  It occurred to me that I should cheer wildly.  So I did, and she was SO proud!  Since then, I have tried having her throw away other things for me and asking her to go get me things!  It keeps working!  I’m SO EXCITED!  The possibilities!  This pregnancy with a toddler thing might work out after all… 😉

One Response

  1. Wow!!! The sweet little girl can do tricks!! It sounds like mama has a plan!!She is learning so many things so quickly these days. Her grandmother loves to hear about them.

Leave a Reply

