What I’ve been up to…

I haven’t been blogging much lately for 2 main reasons: 1) Sophia won’t let me, and 2) I found a new hobby (or addiction).

So, Sophia won’t let me.  The computer has become yet another source of tantrum-time.  If I’m ever merely looking at it, moving the mouse, or typing, she motions with her arms, says “Dup,” and then immediately starts whining, screaming and falling over in the floor.  If you were a fly in our household all day, you might not think that this was any different than anything else that I am doing: washing dishes, cooking dinner, getting dressed… Yup, I haven’t worn make-up in weeks because it’s also a tantrum starter.  Sophia wants to be “dup” and doing every single thing that I’m doing.  She’s not happy with just being held, though… oh, for those sweet newborn days… she’s wants up and then wants something, anything to entertain her.  The last two days lower back pain has begun and so picking up Sophia 100 times a day is going to have to stop…

I just entered third trimester.  We’ve got less than 3-months to go!  After my last check-up and a couple of days of swelling-scares, I’ve rearranged my days into a specific and intentional routine: 3 mile walk in the morning followed by 2 hours of reading in the recliner while Sophia naps.  I have to rest every time Sophia is resting or else by the end of the day I feel the puffiness and acheyness begin as if there were no turning back.  So far my feet look pretty normal, my shoes still fit, and I’m resting as much as possible.  I’ve figured out that I know one thing that causes swelling: Sitting.  Who knew, right?  Basically sitting without my feet up.  I’ve recently spent some time sewing and repairing our cloth diapers.  (15 diapers completely repaired!  They’re awesome now!)  However, I noticed after only one hour of sitting at the sewing machine, my feet were huge and my legs ached.  I’m really thankful that I’m not working, that I’m able to be pregnant at home with Sophia.  Though it’s hard chasing her around all day, I’m able to rest when she rests.

The other reason I’m not blogging much…  We don’t have a laptop, so swelling is one reason I’m not sitting at the computer.  Oh, but really I’m not because I have another passion during naptime!  I’ve rediscovered a love of reading.  I have NEVER read like this before!  I feel like a kid!  I have read almost 10 books in the last 2 months, devouring a hundred pages one nap time at a time.  It’s been such a recharging thing for me.  It really feels like ME-time, my private time.  I’ve read some really great books, some really weird books, and a couple not that interesting.  I just finished “The 19th Wife.”  It’s a historical fiction novel about Mormon plural marriage.  Fascinating!  It follows two different stories of two “19th wives,” one from the 1800s-one of Joseph Brigham’s wives and and one from a present day fundamentalist.  It was wildly interesting, and I learned a ton about the history of the Mormon church.  I don’t know if that sounds interesting, but I seriously couldn’t put it down!

So, what I’ve been up to is taking care of myself, basically… day by day being intentional to do so.  That coupled with taking care of the house and taking care of Sophia fills up the day.  We’re having naptime trouble mixed with this new independence and personality that she’s trying to figure out…  My patience is wearing thin with her, thankfully she’s uber-precious when she’s not a tired-wreck.  We’re trying to switch her from two naps to one because she loves her 10:00 morning nap but isn’t sleeping in the afternoon.  This results in an overtired, tantrum-throwing evening baby that is all Daddy gets to see from 5-7.  One afternoon nap hasn’t worked either as she’s so tired by then that she can’t sleep for more than a hour…. Weird, huh?  So, we’re off to the library this afternoon to research some daytime sleep solutions to help her get the rest she needs.

I hear banging in her room.  What could she be doing?  Singing and banging.  Dad would be proud.  😉

Leave a Reply

