Healthier Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

Been wondering why there weren’t any more posts on the best chocolate chip cookie challenge?  I did make one more batch that turned out spectacularly… but, really I have stopped baking because I found out that I gained 8 pounds between my 20 and 24 week checkup.  It was a major wake-up call.  Hence, the daily walking and watching my carb/sugar consumption…  I’ve been doing really well since, definitely curbing the extra weight gain.  I  decided to try out a healthier recipe.  I came upon a jewel!

I wouldn’t actually call this a “chocolate chip cookie.” It’s an oatmeal cookie with chocolate chips…  After trying it a few nights ago, I want to turn it into a breakfast cookie recipe.  Add some dry fruit, less (if any) chocolate chips.  My main victories with this recipe are how easy and quick it was to throw together, how yummy it is without tasting either too sweet or too “healthy,” a very nice crispy/soft ratio, and Sophia LOVED it!  So, my next baking adventure is turning the following recipe into a breakfast cookie.

BEST EVER OATMEAL COOKIES

(http://www.recipezaar.com/best-ever-oatmeal-cookies-365661)

Wet Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter (I used more like a 1/3 cup of the extra crunchy variety.)
  • 1/2 cup sugar (I used brown sugar, but planning to use 1/2 cup honey instead.)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons water  (I omitted this.)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla

Dry Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2-2 1/2 cups oats
  • handful chocolate chips (Planning to add handfuls of cranberries and nuts.)

Directions

  1. Cream together WET ingredients.
  2. Add DRY ingredients and combine.
  3. Drop by tbsp onto baking sheet (Planning to form a thinner rectangular shaped cookie.)
  4. Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes.
These cookies puffed up a LOT.  They didn’t spread at all.  So, I’m hoping they’ll make a great oatmeal breakfast bar.  I’ll let you know how it turns out!
5 Responses

  1. Please let me know how the breakfast cookie idea works. I’ve been searching for a “breakfast cookie” recipe that I like!

    • I tried these this morning with honey, a little less butter and a little more peanut butter, and I added cranberries. I think I left them in too long. It’s a good idea to get them out as soon as they look done–9 or 10 minutes. All that is to say that they were pretty good; well, they tasted healthy. The honey made them slightly less sweet and the texture wasn’t quite as good. I’d say that they tasted pretty good for being a breakfast bar, though. I’ve got a recipe in one of my cookie books for a “breakfast cookie,” and if I recall, it was pretty good but not quite as healthy as this one. Let me know if you come across something amazing. I think I’d like something crispier… however, that probably means more fat and sugar, huh?

  2. I will have to try these!!! My two favorite kinds of cookies, oatmeal and chocokate with peanut butter. Make that my three favorite flavors!! So to make breakfast bars out of them, what do you need to do or muffins?

    • Hey Mom, glad they sounded good. You’d probably like them okay. For you, I’d add lots more peanut butter–maybe close to a cup. 😉 These don’t taste like peanut butter unless you use quite a bit of it. I don’t know about muffins. That combo doesn’t sound as good to me. Let me know if you try them!

  3. By the way, Angela, I JUST figured out how to comment. I know either you or Will said that it was like the last blog, but I couldn’t for the life of me figure out what to do. You have to click on the previous comments to get the ‘make a comment’ box to come up. Duh. Just wanted to say that I am glad you are rediscovering how awesome reading it! I used to read ALL THE TIME when I was little. It is wonderful. I wish I had the time to read 100 pages a day (without JM feeling totally ignored). haha. I have to take advantage of summertime now. Keep taking care of yourself! 🙂

Leave a Reply

