5 weeks left

We just got back from a 5-weeks left OB appointment.  I can’t believe how fast it’s gone.  Baby’s doing great.  Momma’s doing great.  To catch up to my weight gain in the last pregnancy, I still have 25 pounds left to gain!  HA!  That shows just how swollen with water I was last time.  My feet still look relatively normal, as does the rest of me.  I’ve experienced a few random times recently when my hands and feet puffed up, but I think I’ve narrowed it down to a certain kind of sitting for a certain amount of time.  Church last Sunday was the most recent scare.  Every time it happens I think, “This is it.  Here’s comes 20 pounds of water weight!” Thankfully, it goes away with some lying down.

I’m starting to get some of that end of pregnancy energy–nesting energy?  My foot’s doing a lot better, and I’m just excited to be up doing stuff.  Sophia’s not as excited as I am.  She cut a new molar last night, and either she’s having residual pain today or we may see a match on the other side in a few days.  Bless her heart.  I’ve been cooking up a storm today (more on that later) and she hasn’t appreciated the lack of attention.  I tried to let her help me wash dishes and chop vegetables, but everything seemed to end up in her mouth.  The new tooth explains recent biting, screaming and putting dirt and sand in her mouth.  Bless her heart.  I can tell she’s in pain.  She’s chewing her finger raw.

I found out some really disappointing news at the doctor today.  Because of the flu season and the extra swine flu scare this year, they are changing the labor and delivery hospital visitation rules for the next couple months.  For the duration of the labor and recovery, i.e. for the duration of Mom and Baby’s stay at the hospital, Momma and Baby are allowed ONE “designated support person” in the Birth and Women’s Center.  That’s right, ONE visitor.  ONE.  No other adults are allowed.  So, Daddy, in our case, right?  And, that’s it.  No grandparents, no siblings, no friends.  And, no children are allowed, period.  That’s right.  Sophia won’t even be able to visit us!  I’m freaking out a little.  I want the transition to be as least difficult as possible, and if Sophia is not even allowed to come visit us, see where we are, and get used to what’s going on, isn’t it going to be weird when we pop home from our two day vacation with a BRAND NEW BABY that she’s never seen!  She can visit us in the lobby, but that’s it.  I don’t think we can bring a nursery baby out to the lobby…  Hopefully, I’ll feel like stepping out there in my beautiful hospital gown to say Hi…  Oh…  But, what can we do?  It’s for our protection…

One Response

  1. So glad you’ve had a bit of energy and a nearly healed ankle. Sorry about Sophia’s teething pain…explains that sand feast yesterday, huh? 🙂 About the hospital…what can you do?…I’d at least make my voice heard. If you’re disappointed or upset, let them know about it. I, personally, think the policy is a tad bit ridiculous and will sure be letting them know how I feel if it’s still in place come February!

Leave a Reply

