“What do you have?”

Do you know the passage in Matthew 15 where Jesus feeds four thousand?  It hit me today.  In case you don’t remember it, here’s the passage in the Message.

Matt 15:32-39a

“But Jesus wasn’t finished with them.  He called his disciples and said, “I hurt for these people.  For three days now they’ve been with me, and now they have nothing to eat.  I can’t send them away without a meal–they’d probably collapse on the road.”
His disciples said, “But where in this deserted place are you going to dig up enough food for a meal?”
Jesus asked, “How much bread do you have?”
“Seven loaves,” they said, “plus a few fish.”  At that, Jesus directed the people to sit down.  He took the seven loaves and the fish.  After giving thanks, he divided it up and gave it to the people.  Everyone ate.  They had all they wanted.  It took seven large baskets to collect the leftovers.  Over four thousand people ate their fill at that meal…

Jesus, having already fed 5,000 people on 5 loaves of bread and 2 fish per the request of the disciples (Matt 14), turned it around on them.  He compassionately told them, I hate to send away these people without a meal.”  Jesus gave them a chance to exhibit great faith–“Lord, You feed them,” they could have said.  But, instead, they doubted His power, “Where on earth are you gonna find enough food?”  Jesus simply asked, “What do you have?”

We’re considering another fairly major life-change coming up, one that requires a lot of faith–faith in who God is and what He promises.  I am the thick-headed disciple, “Where on earth are you going to __________ ?”  “How could I ever _________?” “Where on earth will you find enough money for ___________ ?” God is giving me a chance to exhibit great faith, and worries creep in.  I doubt, I worry, I self-loathe.   Jesus simply asked, “What do you have?”  He took it and broke it to feed four thousand.  The disciples didn’t think they had much.  I’m just this mom.  This young mother.  Just this wife.  Just this simple person who loves God but doubts herself.

He took it and broke it to feed FOUR THOUSAND.

3 Responses

  1. loving all these blog posts lately! thanks for sharing your heart.

  2. I’m so glad you’ve been blogging a lot lately! Thanks for sharing great insights into your heart and life. I guess I’ll have to call you though to get any more details on what this upcoming faith-testing change might be?

Leave a Reply

