My new favorite breakfast

Will and I have been on The South Beach Diet for a few months now.  We haven’t been very strict over the last month or so, but we’ve both lost about 25 pounds and kept it off thus far!  Celebration!  One of the ways that we’re able to fudge a little is by having a frequent breakfast of eggs.  Here’s the thing about eggs… I really don’t like them.  Here’s the thing about the South Beach Diet… For the first two weeks of the diet (Phase 1), you eat different egg combinations for breakfast EVERY day.  I started actually liking eggs, but only when they’re fixed with LOTS of vegetables.  I’d like to share more about my experience with the diet, but this post is about my new favorite breakfast.  So, I didn’t use to like eggs, and I always thought vegetables for breakfast was crazy and weird.  Trust me, though, this is GOOD.  It’s like pizza for breakfast.

What is it called?  Is it a frittata?  It’s not an omelete… I like to call it “EGG PIZZA.”  The recipe varies depending on what vegetables I have handy in the fridge, and I use handfuls instead of measuring, but this is the basic model.  My girls adore it, by the way.

Egg Pizza (for 2)

Ingredients:

2 slices bacon or canadian bacon, chopped

1/2 small onion, chopped

1/2 bell pepper, chopped

1 c. asparagus, sliced in 1 in. pieces (trust me)

2 c. fresh spinach

4 eggs, beaten with a touch of milk

1/2 c. of Italian shredded cheese (low-fat or 2% if possible)

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a non-stick, oven safe, 12 in. skillet, pan fry bacon pieces on med-high heat.  If using canadian bacon, you may need to add a little olive oil.  Drain bacon fat.  Add vegetables minus spinach.  Fry until tender crisp.  Add spinach and cook until wilted.  With vegetables/meat spread out evenly over pan, slowly pour eggs over vegetables.  Don’t touch it.  Just let it cook for a few minutes.  Season with salt and pepper.  Cook until you you see the edges pulling away but the center is still very wet.  Sprinkle on cheese, and put it in the preheated oven.  Bake for 2-3 minutes or until cheese is melted and egg pizza is beautifully puffy.  Carefully remove from pan and slice like a pizza.  Serves two grown people for a very satisfying breakfast.

More to come on our South Beach Diet experience later.

One Response

  1. I think I’m going to try this. We love eggs for breakfast. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

