Get moving

I have inconspicuously entitled this post because I’m slightly embarrassed to blog about what I’m about to blog about…  Bowel regularity.  We all suffer from it, right?  But, it’s not dinner conversation… usually…

Here’s the thing, I think I’ve found a cure for constipation.  WOAH.  Big claim.  We’re still testing it, but it’s been a few weeks, and it’s been amazing.  Let me tell you the secret.  Oh, this feels weird. The thing is, I want you to try it, too.  AND, I want you to tell me, anonymously if you want, if it’s working for you.  This is just TOO easy.  Here’s the thing:  I’ve suffered from irregularity and constipation for years.  Years.  Like 15 years.  Two pregnancies didn’t help this. So, this is a big deal for me.  I’ve altered my diet, I eat SO much fiber.  And, I’m just still irregular.  I’ve tried Activia…  I’ve tried Metamucil…  Bleck.

Here’s what we came across a few weeks ago. I happened to catch a documentary called “Food Matters.”  There was a brief comment made about this simple “cure” for irregularity.  It’s also known as water therapy, I’ve learned from other sources.

Simply, this is it: Immediately upon rising in the morning, before you do ANYTHING, drink 1-2 liters of water.

Sound crazy?  Crazy simple?  Right when you wake up in the morning drink 1-2 liters of water, as quickly as you can, and stop when you just can’t take anymore.  Wait a few, maybe 30 minutes, before eating or having coffee.  Trust me, you probably won’t feel like eating immediately.  That may sound like a lot of water, but a liter is just 1 large Nalgene or Camelback bottle (or a standard issue hospital thermos).  With a straw, it’s really not a problem for me to down 1 liter.  I drink more if I’m feeling particularly thirsty.  I don’t drink much more than 1 liter in the morning because more than that makes me feel queezy.  And 1 liter worked for me.  If you find that it doesn’t work, increase the amount you drink toward 2 liters until you see a result. Trust me, you will.

So, first day I tried it.  Bowel movement within an hour.  It’s been the same almost every day since (maybe 2 exceptions.)  It gets the bowels moving quickly and efficiently.  It increases movements to not only every day but more than one a day.  Crazy right?  No fiber, no laxatives, just water.  Another person I know, who will remain anonymous, has also been doing this and has seen insane results–up to 6 movements a day.

It’s supposed to be healthy to poop a lot, right?  Curious?  Let me know?  If you try it, tell me your story.  This is a test.   Is it healthy?  Does it really work?  What a simple cure.

3 Responses

  1. this is great. water is soooo good for you!

  2. Hehehe. How fascinating! I I don’t know if I’ll try it or not as I have always considered myself a pretty healthy pooper, but we’ll see.

  3. I’ve struggled with this off and on. Now I’m in a good phase. 🙂 But I will remember this and try it!

Leave a Reply

