Mothers Day weekend

Shoot.  Am I tired.  We’ve been sick, sick, sick.  For days, days, days.  By the time the weekend came around, we were so stir crazy that, well… we probably overdid it.  Nearly 40 miles of bike riding, sunburn on top of sunburn, and fat bellies from yummy eating out, I’d say I’m tired today.  And, I’m having a bit of “the-weekend-was-awesome-but-now-it’s-Monday-blues.”  The laundry’s piled up.  The house looks like I’ve neglected it for a week.  The refrigerator is empty and stinky…

My kids are having a sort of black Monday, behavior-wise.  Abby is still teething. She’s had 99.5 temp for probably 2 weeks.  Diarrhea, irritability, her molars are popping through bloody and tender.  I’m telling you.  You look at her crosswise, and she will scream like you cut off her hand.  Whew.  She’s a fiesty one.  Testing me.  Testing me.  Looking right at me after I tell her ‘no.’ Puffing up her shoulders and doing it anyway.  Mmm, mmm.  And, well Sophia has decided to fully embody a 3-year old temperament a few weeks before her 3rd birthday.  What ever happening to sweet smiling compliance?!  It was replaced with a real live girl!  With real live opinions!  With a real live personality!  A “I DON’T WANT TO!” girl.  A “I DON’T FEEL LIKE IT!” girl.  Hmmmm.  I hope this phase passes with the cough…

Let me say something positive.  (I often use this blog as a place to rant.)  We did have a wonderful weekend.  My husband showered me with gifts and loveliness (he is lovely), and made it so I had to cook VERY little.  Though we were uber-busy, it was restorative for us all.  We enjoyed ourselves.  We enjoyed each other.  We enjoyed being physically active in our town, riding alongside the beautiful river in the gorgeous warm weather. We got to do my very favorite thing this weekend, twice:  We took a long scenic bike ride downtown. We ate out at a restaurant on the outdoor patio in the sunshine.  And then we went out for ice cream afterwards before taking that long scenic bike ride back home.

My family is wonderful and gracious and appreciative of me.  It gives me joy to be Mother in this house. Let me end on a sweet note with a Mother’s Day weekend slide show.

2 Responses

  1. Awww… happy belated Mother’s Day! I’m so glad you all were able to get out and enjoy it. The girls are getting so big and cuter every day if that’s possible. You look adorable, too!

Leave a Reply

